Happy first day of Kindergarten Preston!

First Day of School
(Wendy Silva)

I wonder what you’re doing right now,
And if everyone is treating you kind.
I hope there is a special person,
A nice friend that you can find.

I wonder if the teacher knows just
how special you are to me.
And if the brightness of your heart,
Is something she can see.

I wonder if you are thinking about me,
And if you need a hug.
I already miss the sound of your voice,
And how you give my leg a tug.

I wonder if you could possibly understand,
How hard it is for me to let you grow.
On this day know that my heart breaks,
For this is the first step in letting my baby go.

untitled-11
untitled-15

As I sit here and begin to type part of me doesn’t know if I can truly put into words just how proud I am of you today and always! I pray that your first day of kindergarten is a special one, and that you find a friend or two that enjoys your company like I do. I pray your teacher knows how sensitive, quiet, sweet and smart you are, and that if she doesn’t know, you show her! I hope you never feel lonely and you take comfort that I Carter is just down the hall. I hope that you believe me when I tell you that I will be thinking of you every minute of the day. We have had a few first days for you thus far, preschool and t-k, but this is different…this is big kid school, all day. I will miss having lunch with you everyday and you coming to me to help you do this or do that. You will be amazing, I have no doubt and your are ready for this! So with sadness in my heart knowing that the next chapter has begun, I am also sending you off with a warm smile, gentle hug and proud face because you got this! I love you more than words Preston, forever and always….promise. I cannot wait to hear all about your first day!

Love, mom

Leave a Reply

